NFL Awards 2021-2022: Odds, Picks, Predictions

01 / 05 / 2022 By Ally Mielnicki

Blog Home | All Posts

With one season remaining in the regular season, it’s time to have a serious conversation about which players and coaches deserve the NFL Awards for the 2021-2022 season. Without further ado, here are the current odds and our picks for who should win:


  • Aaron Rodgers -375
  • Tom Brady +550
  • Jonathan Taylor +1000
  • Joe Burrow +1800
  • Cooper Kupp +2500

Pick: Aaron Rodgers

There should be no debate about who deserves MVP more this season. Still, you can bet some voters will use Aaron Rodgers’ CoVid vaccination controversy against him – which is both unfair and unwarranted. With all due respect to the GOAT in Tom Brady, Rodgers has his team on the verge of a No. 1 seed and a first-round bye with far fewer offensive weapons. Though Rodgers has the benefit of having top receiver Davante Adams in his arsenal, the rest of the supporting receiving cast in Allen Lazard, Marquez Valdes-Scantling, and Equanimeous St. Brown is nowhere near the talent level Brady has in his pocket. Though Brady lost WR Chris Godwin and RB Leonard Fournette for the season two weeks ago, he still has Mike Evans and Rob Gronkowski for weapons. (We won’t bring up Antonio Brown and the stunt he just pulled).

We saw what the Packers looked like without Rodgers when he missed a game because of CoVid back in Week 9 when Green Bay was anemic on offense, managing only 7 points behind backup QB Jordan Love in what should have been a winnable game. Without Rodgers, the Packers are nowhere near the dominant force they have been all season. Rodgers has been without No. 2 receiver Randall Cobb since Week 12 and TE Ryan Tonyan since Week 8, yet still has not skipped a beat. Rodgers should win and deserves to win his 4th MVP Award since entering the league.  

Defensive Player of the Year

  • TJ Watt -400
  • Micah Parsons +350
  • Aaron Donald +800
  • Robert Quinn +2000
  • Myles Garrett +2000

Pick: Micah Parsons

It’s been a rough, inconsistent year for the Steelers, which may cost TJ Watt the Defensive Player of the Year Award, even though he is one sack away from tying Michael Strahan’s single season record. However, even if Pittsburgh was not in an uphill battle to clinch a playoff berth, this honor should be awarded to the Cowboys’ rookie linebacker Micah Parsons. Along with teammate Trevon Diggs, Parsons’ dominance on the defensive front has catapulted Dallas to the top of the NFC East. Parsons’ versatility has been unmatched by any rookie in history. With 13 sacks and 64 solo tackles, Parsons has been a terror to opposing QBs and is a big reason why the Cowboys’ defense has turned a complete 180 compared to what they were last season. There’s no denying that Watt has been stellar as well, but Parsons should be the favorite to win this season. 

Offensive Player of the Year 

  • Cooper Kupp -110
  • Jonathan Taylor -110
  • Aaron Rodgers +5000
  • Deebo Samuel +5000

Pick: Jonathan Taylor

For most, this award is a toss-up between the top receiver and top running back in the league this season, but in my opinion, Taylor should be the unanimous decision. Leading all rushers in yards and TDs, Taylor has been the heart and soul of the Colts’ offense, especially given QB Carson Wentz’s struggles all season. After starting the year 0-3, it appeared as if the Colts were destined for a season of disappointment. Still, Taylor’s emergence on offense won Indy several vital games, including victories against the Cardinals, Patriots, Niners, and Bills. Cooper Kupp has had a historic, sensational year as well, but Taylor’s ground game dominance and the threat he offers every time he touches the ball wins him the award this season.

Coach of the Year

  • Zac Taylor +150
  • Matt LaFleur +150
  • Mike Vrabel +350
  • Bill Belichick +2000
  • Nick Srianni +3500

Pick: Mike Vrabel 

No disrespect to any of the other candidates on the list – especially to Zac Taylor, who has done a phenomenal job with his young Bengals squad. However, with all of the injuries Mike Vrabel’s unit has dealt with this season, it’s a massive credit to his coaching style and staff. This year alone, Tennessee watched star RB Derrick Henry land on the IR to end his regular season. Additionally, top WR A.J. Brown missed 4 key games with injury, and hot offseason acquisition Julio Jones sat out 7 games with various ailments. Still, Vrabel has his Titans’ team in a position to secure the No. 1 overall seed and a first-round bye for the playoffs with a win this Sunday. All of the other coaches in contention are well-deserving of the award should voters cast their ballot differently, but Vrabel offers the best value if you’re confident enough to wager on it.

Download the ZenSports apps